top of page


Why is it necessary to take the Italian B1 level for citizenship?

As you may have heard, due to the recent amendments to the Italian law it is now compulsory to take the Italian B1 level for citizenship. This new law states that all those who apply for the Italian citizenship, either if they are married to an Italian or if they are resident in Italy, must prove an adequate knowledge of the Italian language: at least the B1 level of the CEFR (Common European Framework of Reference for languages). This means that applicants must obtain an official Italian B1 certification. These certifications are released by: Dante Alighieri Durban (PLIDA Certification).

What does the B1 Italian level mean?

Applicants at a B1 level should be able to communicate in daily situations (orally and in writing), to understand the main points of a clear standard input about familiar topics, to read and understand the general meaning and main information of linear texts about general topics. 

What grammar does the B1 level include?

Definite and Indefinite Articles, Qualifying Adjective, Personal Pronouns, Relative Pronouns, Possessive Adjectives and Pronouns, Demonstrative Adjectives and Pronouns, Interrogative Adjectives and Pronouns, Indefinite Adjectives and Pronouns, Combined Prepositions.

So how to get there?

In order to reach the B1 level you might want to take group courses.

In this case, if you are starting from scratch, you should take the following courses:

  • Beginner – Beginner 2 – Beginner 3

  • Elementary – Elementary 2 – Elementary 3

  • Intermediate

bottom of page